CSC Trimaran Championship 2021 (Day 1)

The CSC Trimaran Championship returns this year to beautiful NE Monsoon Sailing conditions – a glorious 10-15 knot breeze coupled with warm sunshine greeted the 8 participating boats on water today. Ding Hao is back to retain her title, together with last year’s runner-up, Buay Kao La. It was also great to see the Wetas being represented by Ex-Stripes and Tantrum, adding to the diversity of the fleet.

With Scott McCook at the helm, Defending Champions Ding Hao shrugged off minor technical issues onboard to secure 3 bullets at the end of Day 1. The fight for 2nd and 3rd place was a lot more competitive, as we see some close encounters on water between Jaza Too, Kaze and Phoenix on multiple occasions. Jaza Too and Kaze missed out on the 2020 edition, but are certainly no stranger to our racing scene. After 3 races, Jaza Too emerged on top with 8 points from 3 races, but not far off from her Kaze and Phoenix are tied on 3rd with 11 points each.

For reasons unknown, 2020 Runner-Ups Buay Kao La missed out on the first 2 races, but finished strongly with a 2nd in Race 3. She will have her work cut out for her in Day 2 should she wish to have any hope of contending for a podium position. The Wetas had a little match race on their own, with Tantrum and Ex-Stripes taking turns to lead in both Races. They however struggled physically on the long courses, eventually calling it a day after 2 races.

As racing concluded just past 3pm, sailors get a much needed early rest today. We look forward to more exhilarating moments for the final day of racing tomorrow!


2021 Trimaran Overall Day 1

2021 Trimaran R1

2021 Trimaran R2

2021 Trimaran R3


Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more